Can integrative arts include business and religion? – A part of my art journey

FINALLY!    Article of Inspiration:  Am I a Dancer Who Gave Up?

This article is a wonderfully articulate story about an artist whose passion couldn’t just be dance, and I can totally relate.  Am I a dancer? A theologian? A non-profit administrator? An early childhood educator?  A professional MOM? Every one of those titles takes work to combine with one of the others, and as someone who has always longed for a truly integrative arts journey, one is not enough.  Can “integrative arts” include people who professionally integrate their arts with traditionally non-artistic disciplines?

YES.2015-03-18 09.48.00

Shawn Lent, who writes the article, is a dancer and choreography, but she is also a business manager and does international diplomatic work for the U.S. Did I mention she’s working in some of my favorite countries too? Like Egypt!

For many years I have had friends and family as me if I’d given up on being a dancer. No, of course not! It’s a part of who I am and I take it with me anywhere. I believe Shawn says much the same thing as I have for all these years.  And why not?

We might not know what to call ourselves, but this is a demographic I can get behind. Dare I say it, a profession?

Enjoy all you artsy peoples!!

 

One thought on “Can integrative arts include business and religion? – A part of my art journey

  1. pauldavissolutions says:

    Reblogged this on The Writers Cue and commented:
    Starting your own artistic business is an integrative process. Whether it is dance or writing, quality business needs the arts. Love this post by my beautiful wife.

    Like

Leave a Reply

